Academic Affairs

Welcome to Academic Affairs at Minot State!

The academic affairs team is composed of a number of offices and people, including an assistant vice president for academic affairs who oversees the department chairs of nine departments in four schools; Graduate School; Registrar; Office of Sponsored Programs; Institutional Research; Institutional Assessment; Center for Extended Learning; Gordon B. Olson Library; Academic Support Center; POWER Center (TRiO), and North Dakota Center for Persons with Disabilities. Some of the academic affairs leadership team members are listed below. Feel free to contact any of us.

Minot State University is a public university dedicated to excellence in education, scholarship, and community engagement achieved through rigorous academic experiences, active learning environments, commitment to public service, and a vibrant campus life.

Minot State University will:

  • Deliver high-quality education where, when, and how it is needed to a diverse, multi-generational student population.
  • Prepare students and the institution for the evolving social and technological challenges of the world.
  • Inspire scholarship and creative activity among students, faculty, and staff.
  • Empower graduates with a distinctive combination of professional expertise and broad-based education to support varied careers and productive lives.

Contact Us:

Laurie Geller Laurie Geller, Ed.D.
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Office: Second floor of Administration
Phone: (701) 858-3310 / (701) 858-3329
Home Page
photo_sm_williams-v2.jpg Alaric Williams, Ed.D.
Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs
Office: Second floor of Administration (near payroll)
Phone: (701) 858-4335 
Home Page
Nathan_Color-2.jpeg Nathan C. Anderson, Ph.D.
Director of Institutional Assessment
Office: 368 Administration
Phone: (701) 858-3064
Assessment Pages
borden-king_lisa.jpg Lisa Borden-King, Ph.D.
Head of Teacher Education Unit
Associate Professor of Education & Director of Reading Clinic
Office: 218B Swain Hall 
Phone: (701) 858-3158
Teacher Education Unit
Cari Olson Cari Olson, M.S.
Director, Institutional Research
Office: 363B Administration
Phone: (701) 858-3323

Institutional Research
Rebecca Ringham Rebecca Ringham, M.S.
Office: 161 Administration
Phone: (701) 858-3126
Registrar's Office  
lori.jpg Lori Garnes, Ph.D.
Director, North Dakota Center for Persons with Disabilities
Office: 234A Memorial
Phone: (701) 858-3139 (701) 858-3580
North Dakota Center for Persons with Disabilities
plante.jpg Jane la Plante, M.L.S.
Director, Gordon B. Olson Library
Office: GBO Library
Phone: (701) 858-3857
GBO Library
Amy Armstrong Amy Armstrong, M.Ed.
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
Office: 216 Memorial
Phone: (701) 858-3578

Office of Sponsored Programs
cresap.jpg Linda Cresap, Ph.D.
Director, Graduate School
Professor, Business
Office: 320 Old Main
Phone: (701) 858-3316
Graduate School
Jim Sturm Jim Sturm, M.Ed.
Director, Looyenga Leadership Center
Office: 101 Old Main
Phone: (701) 858-3129
Looyenga Leadership Center
Heather Martin, director of ASC Heather Martin, M.S.
Director, Academic Support Center
Office: Lower Level of Library
Phone: (701) 858-3265
Academic Support Center
Celeste Simmons  Celeste Simmons
Administrative Assistant for Academic Affairs
Office: Second floor of Administration
Phone: (701) 858-3310