Emeriti, Alumni, and Friends

The generosity of our donors, alumni, and friends has created scholarships and unique learning opportunities for students enrolled in our programs.

The Minot State University College of Business offers many scholarships specifically for students enrolled in our programs thanks to the generosity of donors and friends of the University.  Our scholarship page lists of the donors and their scholarships.

Janice Ann Dislevy Endowed Chair
In 2018, a $4.6 million gift bequeathed by the late Janice Dislevy become the largest single donation in Minot State’s history. Designated towards the Janice Ann Dislevy Endowed Chair, funds support faculty positions in the Minot State University College of Business. Dislevy ’60 served on the Minot State University College of Business Dean’s Advisory Board and was a member of the MSU Old Main Society. Her final gift brought the total donated by Dislevy to approximately $5.3 million. She established the Janis Ann Dislevy Trust Endowed Scholarship in 2003 and the Janis Dislevy Endowed Chair in 2007.

Roger Looyenga Leadership College of Business Endowment 
Roger Looyenga, Bachelor of Science in Business Education ’68, established his endowment in 2010 with a gift of $100,000 to initiate a program in business leadership. Subsequent gifts have grown the endowment to nearly $500,000. In November 2019, Roger and Ann Looyenga announced a $1 million gift from Roger and Ann Looyenga to broaden the University’s academic offerings in the area of leadership. Since the initial gift, the leadership program has helped create growth opportunities for students to develop in four major areas: self-awareness, self-management, social awareness, and relationship management.

Severson Entrepreneurship Academy
In February 2010, the College of Business announced a first-of-its-kind $1 million gift from Clinton Severson ’73 and Conni Ahart to establish the Severson Entrepreneurship Academy.  In February 2016, the College of Business was proud to announce a historic gift of $2 million gift from Clint Severson and Conni Ahart to continue their support to the Severson Entrepreneurship Academy. The Severson Entrepreneurship Academy provides students with unique opportunities at Minot State and within the Minot community to become an innovative entrepreneur through hands-on business development, planning, research, and real-life experience.

Slaaten Learning Center
In October 2010, Minot State University announced the largest gift from a single donor, Dr. Doris Slaaten, to renovate the Slaaten Learning Center, enhance student development, supplement scholarships, and provide for on-going support. The renovation repurposed rooms to include a fully video-conference board room, financial trading lab, conference room for student meetings, and informal study space.

As a business student, you have many opportunities to study abroad. Working with the Minot State Office of International Programs, you can find opportunities and schools that best fit your interests. The College of Business maintains partnerships with several universities around the globe, including:

Department of Accounting and Finance

  • David Demers
  • Patricia Fedje
  • Joan Houston
  • Adelaide Johnson
  • Karen Waltz

Department of Business Administration

  • Dale Atwood
  • John Doering
  • DeWayne Domer
  • Robert Lower
  • Gary Ross
  • Mohammad Saeed
  • Richard Schlapman
  • Doris Slaaten
  • Keith Witwer

Department of Business Information Technology

  • Julie Eklund
  • Linda Cresap
  • Sharon Reynolds
  • Robert Sando
  • Thomas Seymour
  • Lorraine Willoughby

Thank you for your support of the Minot State University College of Business. To make a financial gift to support our students, faculty, or programs and for more information, visit our giving page.