Minot State students find success at FBLA Collegiate conference

MINOT, N.D. – Minot State University’s Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Collegiate students competed at the 2023 ND State Leadership Conference March 26-27 in Bismarck/Mandan and walked away with a score of awards.

The chapter earned — for the second consecutive year — the coveted Dorothy L. Travis Adviser’s Award, a sweepstakes award named after the founder of ND FBLA. Points are given for each state officer candidate, current state officer, as well as each participant and placements in competitive events.

“The magic of the Dorothy Travis Award is that the work and dedication of each student is reflected,” said Jan Repnow, FBLA Collegiate advisor and Minot State University College of Business assistant professor. “All students have a claim to this distinction.”

Minot State was represented by 11 members who qualified in the following areas:

  • Brendan Barnes: Foundations of Finance, first place; Emerging Business Issues, second place
  • Jada Clarke: Help Desk, second place; Public Speaking, first place
  • Nicole Ferebee: Computer Concepts, third place; Cyber Security, second place
  • Hailey Graner: Job Interview, third place; Business Law, first place; Chapter Who's Who
  • Chloe Gunderson: Management Analysis and Decision Making, first place; Future Business Executive, first place; Retail Management, first place; Chapter Who's Who
  • Mason Lemer: Information Management, second place; Business Ethics, first place; Chapter Who's Who; Elected 2023-24 State President
  • Melanie Segura: Accounting Case Competition, first place; Retail Management, second place
  • Stephen Tao: Macroeconomics, second place; Microeconomics, third place
  • Tanner Thompson: Accounting Case Competition, first place; Hospitality Management Case Competition, first place; Impromptu Speaking, first place
  • Alec Wolf: Business Ethics, first place
  • Sarah Yeater: Job Interview, first place; Business Communication, first place

“This list is amazing,” said Repnow. “We look forward to seeing their accomplishments become reality in the business world.”

All award winners earned the right to compete in the National Leadership Conference to be held in Atlanta, Georgia June 22–25.

In the attached photo, standing left to right:  Jada Clarke, Brendan Barnes, Mason Lemer, Tanner Thompson, Alec Wolf, Stephan Tao, and Jan Repnow, adviser. Seated left to right:  Melanie Segura, Sarah Yeater, Hailey Graner, Chloe Gunderson, and Nicole Ferebee.

About Minot State University
Minot State University is a public university dedicated to excellence in education, scholarship, and community engagement achieved through rigorous academic experiences, active learning environments, commitment to public service, and a vibrant campus life.

Published: 04/03/23   

» More MSU News