Faculty and Staff Resources

Course Completion Agreements
Program Director Forms  Graduate Faculty Status

Mission Statement
The Graduate Council is the policy and governance body dealing with all graduate education issues according to the duties outlined in the Graduate Council Charter. As the representative governance unit of the Graduate faculty at Minot State University. The Graduate Council considers policy recommendations that govern graduate programs. It supports programs developed in accordance with the vision statement for Graduate Education.

Vision of Graduate Education at Minot State University
Minot State University is recognized as a regional leader for high quality graduate programs. MSU prepares graduates who have the knowledge and skills to make significant contributions in their chosen professions.

Composition of the Graduate Council
The Graduate Council consists of the head of the Graduate School who serves as Chair of Graduate Council, one elected graduate faculty member from each graduate program (not including separate tracks within programs), two graduate faculty members appointed by the Chair of the Graduate School, three graduate students who are enrolled and in good standing, and a Parliamentarian appointed by the Chair of the Graduate Council. At a date to coincide with the annual faculty election as defined by the Faculty Senate bylaws of MiSU, faculty are elected by the graduate faculty from their own programs, and both they and faculty appointed by the Chair of the Graduate Council, serve a three-year term. Student members are nominated by Program Directors, selected by the Chair of the Graduate Council, and each serves a one-year term. The Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Parliamentarian are ex-officio non-voting members. (from approved Graduate Charter, March 2020)

Meeting Times:  Effective Spring 2021, Graduate Council will meet the third Tuesday of each month from 3:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m.

 Graduate Council Members

Graduate Council
Department Member Term
Communication Disorders Dr. Ann Beste-Guldborg 2019-2022
Disability Human Services Dr. Evan Borisinkoff 2020-2023
Education Dr. Laura Zucca-Scott 2019-2022
Information Systems Dr. Lori Willoughby 2018-2021
Management Ms. Megan Fixen 2020-2021
School Psychology Ms. Tamara Waters-Wheeler 2019-2022
Special Education Dr. Holly Pedersen 2019-2022
Sports Management Dr. Linda Cresap 2019-2022
At-Large Position Dr. Jeanne MacDonald 2020-2023
At-Large Position Ms. Mary Huston 2018-2021
Graduate Student Representative Ms. Madison Tiedman 2020-2021
Graduate Student Representative Ms. Jennifer Bjornson 2020-2021
Graduate Student Representative Ms. Alexa Tate 2020-2021
VP of Academic Affairs Dr. Laurie Geller Ex-officio

Associate VP Graduate, Online, Distance
and Continuing Education

Dr. Jacek Mrozik Chair
Registrar Ms. Rebecca Ringham


Parliamentarian Dr. Cheryl Nilsen


The Citation for Excellence is awarded by the Graduate School in recognition of outstanding achievements by students completing graduate programs at MSU. Students selected for this honor will exemplify excellence in areas consistent with the mission of the MSU Graduate School including critical inquiry, creativity, discovery, and leadership.

Graduate program directors may submit nominations for the Citation of Excellence in the form of a letter to the Associate Vice President of the Graduate School. Supporting documentation and other evidence describing achievements beyond typical expectations should accompany the letter of nomination. This information should be filed in the Graduate School Office by March 15 each year.

Nominees will be reviewed by a committee* of the Graduate Council who will award the Citations of Excellence based on the criteria specified below. The number of Citations awarded each year will be at the discretion of the committee and will reflect the qualifications of the pool of nominees.

The Graduate School will release the names of recipients of this award to the graduate programs by April 15 each year.

Enrollment Criteria
Those students nominated for the award must meet ONE of the following enrollment criteria.

  1. Currently enrolled in a graduate program
  2. Applied for graduation, or
  3. Completed the degree within two semesters of the semester in which they were nominated.

Nomination Criteria
In addition, nominees must meet all the following nomination criteria:

  1. Have a continuous cumulative GPA of at least 3.75 for required courses in their major,
  2. Provide documented evidence of superior accomplishments during the student’s program of study at MSU which "extend beyond the usual expectations" of the respective graduate programs.

Examples of superior accomplishments which exceed the usual expectations of the graduate program may include, but are not limited to:

  • an exemplary thesis or original research project;
  • exemplary field applications (experiences) appropriate to the domain;
  • professional presentations, publications or similar contributions which stem from work completed in the master’s degree at a state, regional or national level;
  • exemplary leadership in the profession at a state, regional or national level;
  • exemplary service demonstrating critical inquiry, creativity, discovery, or leadership at the university, state, regional or national level;
  • other documented achievements which extend beyond the typical expectations of the student’s graduate program.

Examples of accomplishments within the usual expectations of a student’s graduate program include

  • completion of a good thesis or research project;
  • satisfactory completion of assigned GTA duties;
  • GPA over 3.75 without other achievements, etc.

Students selected for this award will receive a plaque from the Graduate School and will be recognized during the Graduate School hooding ceremony which is held prior to commencement on each year.

*The Citation of Excellence Committee will consist of five members selected from and approved by the Graduate Council. Membership will include the Associate Vice President of the Graduate School and when possible, a student representative to the Graduate Council. The remaining committee members will be selected from the Graduate Council at large.


The Graduate Student Rights Committee examines issues of academic honesty, grade appeals, and other student rights matters as deemed appropriate. The Graduate Student Rights Committee members include the Vice President for Academic Affairs as chairperson (a non-voting member of the committee), the three student members of the Graduate Council, three Graduate Council members elected by the Council, and the head of the Graduate School. A member of the Registrar's Office is a non-voting, ex-officio member of the committee.


Laurie Geller, VPAA, Chair, non-voting
Jacek Mrozik, Head of Graduate School
Rebecca Ringham, Registrar, Ex-officio

Ann Beste-Guldborg, Graduate Council Member
Linda Cresap, Graduate Council Member

Jennifer Bjornson, Graduate Council Student Rep
Alexa Tate, Graduate Council Student Rep
Madison Tiedman, Graduate Council Student Rep