Minot State University gratefully acknowledges the Native Peoples on whose ancestral lands we sit. We praise the Anishinaabe and Assiniboine peoples, as well as the other sovereign nations of the northern plains whose lands encompass North Dakota today: The Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, the Mandan Hidatsa Arikara Nation, the Spirit Lake Nation, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate.

Minot State University is proud that Native men and women have chosen to attend our university and enrich it with their knowledge and achievements.

In the spirit of collaboration, we reach out to our university and regional community with programs and activities that demonstrate our commitment to the First Peoples of the northern plains.


  • Annette Mennem, MSU Native American Center Director
  • Dr. Joseph Jastrzembski, Professor of History and Native American Studies Coordinator
  • Dr. Kathryn Hintz, Professor of Teacher Education and Director of Teacher Advisement and Field Placement
  • Kayla O’Toole, Director of Distance Education, Dakota College Bottineau

Cultural Consultants:

  • Dr. Dan Henry, Enrolled Member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa
  • Evelyn Klimpel, Enrolled Member of the Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation
  • Alisha Deegan, Superintendent Knife River Indian Villages National Historic Site and Enrolled Member of the Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation
  • Erik Holland, Curator of Education, State Historical Society of North Dakota

MSU Websites:

ND Websites:

Land Acknowledgement Video