Skip to content
Communication Disorders

Undergraduate Program

Program and Course Descriptions
Advising Worksheet (pdf)
Tracking Worksheet (pdf)

Letter to Prospective Students

Dear Prospective Student,

We are glad you are interested in our undergraduate Communication Disorders Program here at Minot State University. Currently, we have approximately 140 undergraduates and 50 graduate students. The CD Program has 10 full-time faculty, an excellent speech and hearing clinic, and a quality curriculum. The graduate program in Speech-Language Pathology is accredited by Council on Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

The undergraduate program takes four years to complete the 128-semester hour program if a student averages 16 credit hours per semester. The program consists of 38 general education hours, 41 hours in Communication Disorders, 30-32 required hours in related areas, 8-9 hours from the psychology component, 3 hours from the aging component, and the remaining hours as electives. Students may begin taking the 40 hours in Communication Disorders at the sophomore (second year) level.

Students who attend their first year other than at MSU should be in contact with the MSU Admissions / Records Office (701-858-3349) to assure the classes they take can transfer as part of the required general education hours. Students who attend elsewhere for two years and transfer to MSU as juniors may have to take some sophomore level classes and may have to attend summer school in order to complete the bachelorís degree in two years. Once the undergraduate degree is earned, the student is encouraged to apply to the masterís program, which is five semesters.

Students who already have an undergraduate degree in a discipline other than in Communication Disorders should apply to the Post-Baccalaureate Program.

To apply to the undergraduate Communication Disorders Program, students must apply to the MSU Admission / Records Office. Information about the CD Program may be obtained by calling the Department Office at 701-858-3031 or e-mailing the Department Secretary, Diane Pierson, at