Minutes of

MiSU Faculty Senate Executive Committee

September 26, 2002


Members present: Andreasen, Barkosky, Burke, Hall, Keller, Markel, McCormack, Seymour

Members absent: None


President Keller called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m.


Minutes of the previous meeting were approved by consent.


President Keller announced the full Senate had approved the appointments of Andreasen, Burke, and Seymour to the Faculty Senate Executive.


Dr. Nancy Hall presented the administrative report:

      The search for a new Dean of the College of Education and Human Services is underway. Screening begins October 15. The campus will receive updates after each search committee meeting.

      The SBHE is now requiring that anyone considering a new program file a Stage I report. The Board will check that report against campus mission and resources. The usual campus process for program development and approval can progress only after Stage I reporting.

      A student satisfaction survey (mandated by the SBHE) will be conducted in all 9:00 classes on October 9, 2002.


For old business, Keller nominated Larry Henderson of the College of Business to fill the Tenure Committee vacancy. Markel moved and Seymour seconded approval of this appointment. Motion passed.


The elections to fill vacant Faculty Senate positions were reported. Marie Mohler will complete the remaining year of the College of Education and Human Services position. Ron Fischer will complete the remaining year of the College of Arts and Sciences.


For new business, Keller reported the substantive changes in Draft 8 of the Sick Leave Policy. These changes will be reported to the full Senate.


Stage I program proposals are being considered by two MiSU departments, relative to opportunities in China. No decisions have been reached by those departments.


Keller reported the results of the faculty opinion survey. The numeric results and summarized comments will be presented to the full Senate. The question of setting a standard policy for distribution of future results will be brought to the Senate.


The November 7 Faculty Senate meeting will be moved to November 14 so that President Keller may report on the distance learning conference from which he will have just returned.


The meeting adjourned at 4:45.




Minot State University Faculty Senate 2002-2003

Executive Board Meeting September 26, 2002

3:30 p.m. Westlie Room



Executive Board Members

Christopher Keller (Faculty Senate President)

Paul Markel (Faculty Senate Vice President)

David McCormack (Faculty Senate Secretary)

Bethany Andreasen (Faculty Senate Parliamentarian - appointment pending FS


Richard Barkosky (Immediate Past Faculty Senate President)

Nancy Hall (Vice President of Academic Affairs)

Tom Seymour

Don Burke



1. Approval of the minutes

2. Announcements

3. Review the Agenda

4. Administrative report - Dr. Nancy Hall

5. Old Business

a. Committee appointments

5. New Business

a. Draft 8 of the Faculty Sick Leave Policy

b. Possible Stage 1 proposals for new programs

c. Faculty Opinion Survey

d. Schedule change for full Senate