Minutes of

MiSU Faculty Senate Executive Committee

February 13, 2003


Members present: Andreasen, Burke, Hall, Keller, Markel, McCormack.

Members absent: Barkosky, Seymour.

Guests present: Erik Shaar, Maila Zitelli


President Keller called the meeting to order at 3:34 p.m.


Minutes of the previous meeting were approved by consent.

President Keller announced:

      The Center for Extended Learning Committee will be meeting shortly to consider the issues of adjunct faculty appointment and re-appointment.

      The items not completed at last month's Faculty Senate meeting will be placed on next week's Faculty Senate agenda.


The agenda (attached) was reviewed.


Dr. Nancy Hall highlighted certain items in her January Academic Newsletter:

      The annual resource allocation cycle is about to begin. Deans and chair are asked to list prioritized equipment needs. Last year all Priority I needs were met. When some moneys were returned at the year end, the list was readily available for redistribution of available funds.

      Lisa Johnson is implementing the entire course structure of the North Dakota University System into the new Connect North Dakota software. Lisa will inform the Curriculum Committee of the workings of this system. Minot State will implement the curriculum aspect of Connect North Dakota in 2004.

      Multiple grants are being requested by Minot State. Among them is the NDCPD request which collaborates with four institutions to help students through several courses which tend to be barriers to success in certain programs.

      MSU is pursuing a collaborative agreement with Toko University in Taiwan. Drs. Shaar, Hall, and Hewlett will be visiting Toko to observe their resources and hopefully work out many initial details.

      The Criminal Justice and Education Departments are each conducting an internal search for a chair.

      The Marketing Committee is considering the production of a CD to promote MSU.

      The Social Work Department has just completed a favorable accreditation visit.


Dr. Erik Shaar provided a legislative update.

      Four system presidents were called to testify concerning some discovered "unrestricted assets." They had to explain to legislators that these accounts were actually encumbered for a variety of purposes. This exemplifies the kinds of fires which continually arise in a legislative year.

      Crossover date is in 2 weeks. After this date, the real issues begin to be clarified. The session is expected to require the maximum 80 days.


Drs. Shaar and Hall excused themselves from the meeting at this point to avoid bias in their possible future roles in the next item of business.


The Exec Board discussed the Faculty Review Committee report on the grievances brought by Dr. Maila Zitelli against Dr. Conrad Davidson. Dr. Zitelli argued that since the Committee had not found that any of the grievances were justified and therefore no violations of policy, procedure, or practice had occurred, the committee had no authority to make recommendations of any kind. She therefore requested that the second page of the Committee report be expunged. The Executive Board determined that the Board had no authority to change the Committee's report. The Board also determined that the Committee should have a chance to consider Dr. Zitelli's argument and change its report if they desire. The Executive Board also agreed that if Dr. Zitelli wishes to have the matter placed on the February 20 Faculty Senate agenda, that will be allowed.


The Board next considered the charge by the Faculty Senate that the Executive Board review all Faculty Senate committees regarding structure, duties, and lines of communication. The Board scheduled a special meeting for itself on February 27 for discussion of a method by which to carry out this charge.


The meeting adjourned at 4:58.


Respectfully submitted,




David McCormack



Minot State University Faculty Senate 2002-2003

Executive Board Meeting February 13, 2003

3:30 p.m. Westlie Room


Executive Board Members

Christopher Keller (Faculty Senate President)

Paul Markel (Faculty Senate Vice President)

David McCormack (Faculty Senate Secretary)

Bethany Andreasen (Faculty Senate Parliamentarian)

Richard Barkosky (Immediate Past Faculty Senate President)

Nancy Hall (Vice President of Academic Affairs)

Tom Seymour

Don Burke



1. Approval of the minutes

2. Announcements

3. Review the Agenda

4. Administrative report - Dr. Shaar and Dr. Hall

5. Old Business


6. New Business

a. Report of the Faculty Review Committee

b. Review of Faculty Senate committee structure