Minutes of

MiSU Faculty Senate Executive Committee

January 16, 2003


Members present: Andreasen, Barkosky, Burke, Hall, Keller, Markel, McCormack.

Members absent: Seymour.

Guests present: Stephanie Witwer


President Keller called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m.


Minutes of the previous meeting were approved by consent.

The agenda (attached) was reviewed.


President Keller announced:

      He has charged the Constitutional Review Committee to draft the language which will implement the changes approved at the last Senate meeting.

      He will charge the Handbook Committee to interact with Kathy Horvath in placing the Handbook online (replacing the pdf format).

      He has invited nominations for the Distinguished Lifetime Educator Award from the faculty.

      A Faculty Review Committee has been appointed to review a grievance filed by an Arts and Sciences faculty member against her supervisor. The Faculty Review Committee is to propose a solution.


Dr. Nancy Hall highlighted certain items in her January Academic Newsletter:

      The library is working with the Center for Extended Learning as a potential funding source for online databases, which are crucial to online students.

      The records office has developed the International Student Recruitment Office.

      The NDCPD is developing a plan to change ND Medicaid practices and policies.

      The NDCTP is working with the MSU Foundation to raise private funds.

      The College of Business with the Rural Crime and Justice Center are seeking private funding to remodel Crane Hall.

      The College of Education and Health Sciences is preparing for accreditation team visitations.

      Minot State is concerned about possible double digit percentage tuition increases.


President Keller reported relative to the faculty concerns about adjunct faculty qualification and appointment procedures. He has learned that department chairs are always involved in adjunct faculty appointments. He also indicated that the Curriculum Committee has not had time to complete its report on the matter.


Stephanie Witwer reported that MSU has engaged SmartThinking, an online tutorial service now available to students. She briefly explained its features, indicating faculty training will be available very soon.


The relation of independent study courses to the CEL was discussed. Independent study courses basically fall into two categories: special courses numbered 299 and 499, and regular courses being offered to an individual student due to special needs. Students must pay extra tuition for these courses when they are offered through CEL. Regular practicum courses, such as student teaching are not run through CEL, even though they are offered in a one-on-one fashion. One question was the means by which policy changes should occur. Should the administration present the proposed change to the Academic Policy Committee directly, or to the Senate who could then send it to the Academic Policy Committee. This will be placed on the next Faculty Senate agenda.


A new Institutional Committee is needed for online course procedures. The full Senate will discuss the membership of the committee.


A new CD has been produced by the College Connection Center for recruiting in Montana and South Dakota. We need to review this CD.


The SBHE has established policy # 611.2 on intellectual property rights. Procedures must now be written on each campus to implement the policy. The Senate may consider an ad hoc committee for this purpose.


Dr. Sharr spoke about his legislative testimony including various rumors and incomplete stories. People should not be scared at this point. The legislative process will run its normal course.


The Senate will consider whether and how to replace Tom Seymour on the Promotion and Tenure Policies Committee.


The meeting adjourned at 5:03.


Respectfully submitted,




David McCormack



Minot State University Faculty Senate 2002-2003

Executive Board Meeting January 16, 2003

3:30 p.m. Westlie Room


Executive Board Members

Christopher Keller (Faculty Senate President)

Paul Markel (Faculty Senate Vice President)

David McCormack (Faculty Senate Secretary)

Bethany Andreasen (Faculty Senate Parliamentarian)

Richard Barkosky (Immediate Past Faculty Senate President)

Nancy Hall (Vice President of Academic Affairs)

Tom Seymour

Don Burke



1. Approval of the minutes

2. Announcements

3. Review the Agenda

4. Administrative report - Dr. Nancy Hall

5. Old Business

a. Policy concerning adjunct faculty qualification and appointment procedure


6. New Business

a. Smartthinking - online tutoring service

b. Inclusion of Independent Study under C.E.

c. College Connection Center CDs

d. Membership of the Ad hoc committee on Promotion and Tenure