## **Chapter President's Message**

The vision of Sigma (formerly Sigma Theta Tau International) Honor Society of Nursing is to be empowered nurse leaders transforming global healthcare. The mission of the honor society is to develop nurse leaders anywhere to improve healthcare everywhere. It is the goal of Sigma for nurses to grow in value globally, and to recognize and promote scholarship, leadership and service, expand global relationships, and to develop innovative nurse leaders.

The vision, mission and goals of Sigma translate into local action through chapter sponsored educational programs, activities, and service projects. The chapter offers several educational programs each year and works in collaboration with other professional nursing organizations to provide education and support to nurses who care for clients in several areas of nursing practice. The chapter encourages professional and leadership development. There are many opportunities for member involvement such as committees, task forces, service projects, educational presentations and board of directors. Take time to check out all the opportunities on the web site! <a href="https://www.sigmanursing.org">https://www.sigmanursing.org</a>

Omicron Tau Chapter needs to continue to build membership, as well as develop programs and activities that answer to the needs of the community. All members are welcome to attend our scheduled board meetings and yearly annual meeting. Feel free to call or email me if you are interested in becoming more involved!!

Ashley DeMakis MSN, RN President, Omicron Tau Chapter

# Chapter Strategic Plan 2018-2020

- Hold a minimum of two scholarly activities each year including the annual meeting and the Collaborative Education Conference.
- Invite community nurse leaders and nursing students for induction into membership.
- Provide mentor opportunities in chapter processes for student members.
- Support one active member as an officer to attend the Leadership Connection and one or two delegates to attend the Biennial Convention.
- Recognize outstanding performance and service through awards and public relations.
- Promote member attendance at meetings and activities.
- Publish a minimum of one newsletter a year and send to all members. Post the newsletter to the Omicron Tau Chapter website.
- Maintain chapter web-site to provide information and communication among members.
- Make contact with inactive members for increased awareness of chapter activities.
- Participate in at least one community and one global outreach project annually.
- Maintain connection with One Family Foundation in Croix de Bouquet in Haiti.
- Hold one activity that promotes inclusive and sustainable economic growth, employment and decent work for all.

Member	<b>Board Member Position</b>	Term (July 1 - June 30)
Ashley DeMakis	President	2021-2023
Laura Hellmuth	Past President	
Open	President Elect	2021-2023 (for 2023-2025)
Open	Vice President	2020-2022
Heather Sys	Treasurer	2021-2023
Kylie Mindt	Secretary	2020-2022
Becky Brodell	Board Member At Large	2020-2022
Sandra Harbort	Board Member At Large	2021-2023
Renee Duncan	Board Member Governance	2020-2022
	Committee (Faculty Counselor)	
Melissa Fettig	Board Member Governance	2020-2022
	Committee	
Carla Robillard	Board Member Governance	2021-2023
	Committee	
Kim Tiedman	Board Member Leadership	2020-2022
	Succession Committee	
Richelle Johnson	Board Member Leadership	2021-2023
	Succession Committee	
Open	Board Member Leadership	2021-2023
	Succession Committee	

### **Board Members (2 year terms)**

#### **Governance**

- Renee Duncan (faculty counselor) 2020-2022
- Melissa Fettig (2020-2022)
- Carla Robillard (2021-2023)

#### **Leadership Succession**

- Kim Tiedman (2020-2022)
- Richelle Johnson (2021-2023)

#### **Board member at large**

- Becky Brodell (2020-2022)
- Sandra Harbort (2021-2023)

#### **Education committee**

- Ashley DeMakis
- Melissa Fettig
- Sara Frantsvog
- Amy Roberts
- Kim Tiedman

#### Awards Committee

• Marita Hoffart

## **Chapter Key Committee**

•

## Community/Global Outreach Committee

•

## **Finance Committee**

- Heather Sys-Treasurer
- Melissa Fettig
- Linda Pettersen
- Richelle Johnson

#### Nurse Day

•

# <u>Raffle</u>

•

## **Research/Scholarship Committee**

- Marita Hoffart
- Linda Pettersen