Skip to content
Be seen. Be heard.

Office of Human Resources

Final Opportunity - Tenured Faculty Voluntary Separation Incentive Program

MSU is offering a limited-time Tenured Faculty Voluntary Separation Incentive Program (TFVSIP). The University is taking this step in an effort to reduce salary, benefit and wage costs given the current financial situation.

The Program provides eligible tenured faculty members with severance pay based on their annual base salary if they choose to separate from employment under the conditions of the program.

All tenured faculty members who meet minimum eligibility requirements as of the end of the Spring 2017 semester are invited to apply. Participation is voluntary for both MSU and the tenured faculty member. Eligibility requirements include:

  • Qualification under the “Rule of 70” (age plus years of service in the North Dakota University System)
  • Currently a tenured faculty member at MSU

In exchange for their separation from MSU, approved applicants will receive a payment equal to:

(# years of service MSU / 52) x (current annual base salary)

not to exceed 50% of their annual base salary less all required federal and state taxes and deductions as required by law.

TFVSIP is intended as a tool to help meet current funding challenges. TFVSIP is not an employee benefit and is considered separate from any policies on retirement.

MSU will accept applications through April 3, 2017. This time period will provide tenured faculty time to carefully review and consider the program. Once all applications are submitted, the University will assess the impact of the applications on budgetary and programmatic demands. Proposals for a two-year phase out of employment will be considered.

This is a voluntary program and tenured faculty meeting the minimum criteria are not required to apply. The decision of whether to approve an application will depend on the potential impact separations will have on specific academic units and educational programs.

Faculty who would like additional information can also contact Marc Wachtfogel, Director of Human Resources, at or at ext. 4610.

Applications may be submitted now through 4:30 p.m. CDT on April 3, 2017. Late applications will not be accepted.