Request for Nominations 2023-2024

Minot State University Board of Regents Faculty Achievement Awards

The Minot State University Board of Regents and MSU have established three \$1,000 awards to be presented to three individual faculty members at the MSU Employee Appreciation event on May 6, 2024, to recognize, reward, and motivate excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service. The following selection criteria have been established for each separate award:

Demonstrates Minot State University's core values and long-term commitment to:

- Teaching and learning with excellence, integrity, and engagement
- Serving students and others respectfully and responsibly
- Following high ethical and moral principles
- Supporting the values of community and place, where all community members are valued and respected for their work, contributions, and freedom of expression

Models Minot State University's beliefs about excellence in teaching:

- Knowledgeable about both content and pedagogy
- Models intellectual curiosity
- Facilitates learning for all students
- Facilitates individual growth of students through mentoring, advising, and shared inquiry
- Committed to the assessment of student learning and continuous improvement

Models Minot State University's beliefs about excellence in scholarship:

- Produces scholarly work that is validated through external review
- Addresses issues that are relevant and important to the social, economic, or cultural needs of the community, state, or nation
- Contributes to the teaching and learning at MSU by involving students in the research or as beneficiaries of the resulting new knowledge
- Contributes to the knowledge base within a discipline

Models Minot State University's beliefs about excellence in service:

• Actively engages in on and off campus activities that support community needs, enhance quality of life, and promote continued development of teaching, scholarship, and learning

Nominations may be made by anyone knowledgeable about the achievement and contributions of the faculty member being nominated. Self nominations are allowed. Self nominations must include an endorsement by a faculty member or supervisor. The selection of recipients will be made by the President's Staff.

Recipients must have been employed full time as an MSU faculty member for at least four years (including the year of nomination) and will be eligible to receive an award only once. Current faculty members who have previously received an award are: Sarah Aleshire, Erik Anderson, Bethany Andreasen, Kristi Berg, Micah Bloom, Mikhail Bobylev, Lisa Borden-King, Joseph Collette, Dan Conn, Robert Crackel, Linda Cresap, Terry Eckmann, Eric Furuseth, Warren Gamas, Laurie Geller, Heather Golly, Bill Harbort, Leisa Harmon, Joseph Jastrzembski, Scott Kast, Beth Marschner, Vicki Michels, Holly Pedersen, Ernst Pijning, Gary Rabe, Jan Repnow, Daniel Ringrose, Dannah Schaffer, Mark Singer, Bryan Schmidt, Jerry Stai, Heidi Super, Jay Wahlund, John Webster, and Wenjing Zheng

Nominations must be received in the President's Office by April 1, 2024.

Please note: this nomination form may be found on the MSU web site MSU - Annual Recognition Awards (minotstateu.edu).

Nomination Form

This form must include at least a one-page description on how the nominee meets the criteria in one of the areas stated on the previous page in teaching, scholarship, or service and a description of how they demonstrate the stated core values.

I hereby nominate	, a faculty member of the	
(depa	(department/division/college), for the MSU Board of	
Regents Faculty Achievement Awar	rd in the area of (circle on	e)
TEACHING	SCHOLARSHIP	SERVICE
Name of person making nomination		Date