N. M. Lillehaugen Scholarship Application Directions

The N. M. Lillehaugen Scholarship promotes the serious study of history. The award is determined based on the academic promise of the student.

ELIGIBILITY (STUDENTS MUST MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS):

- Have a History BA or History BSE major.
- Have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.
- Have Junior or Senior Standing (60 credits or more) in 2017–2018.
- Have formally declared major at least one full semester before date of application.
- Must be in residence full-time at MSU during the year of application.

TO APPLY:

1. Visit the Financial Aid Office site at

http://www.minotstateu.edu/finaid/scholarships.shtml and complete the Returning Students 2017–2018 MSU Scholarship and Awards Program application. You must complete and submit this application by Wednesday, February 15, 2017.

- 2. Submit a scholarship application packet to Debby Brothers in the Social Science Division Office no later than 4:30 PM on Friday, March 2, 2017. This application packet must include:
 - a. An *autobiographical essay*. The essay must include:
 - 1) Your current name, address, phone number and EMPL number.
 - 2) Background information about yourself, including experience in community service, extracurricular activities and campus organizations.
 - 3) A statement about your outstanding personal attributes.
 - 4) A statement about your academic goals regarding history.
 - b. A copy of a current transcript (will be supplied by division).
 - c. A list of at least <u>two</u> MSU faculty references; <u>one</u> of which must be outside of the Division of Social Science. Please obtain a faculty member's permission to list them. Do NOT ask faculty for letters of reference.

SELECTION PROCESS

The Lillehaugen Scholarship Committee will review the applications as soon after the closing date as possible. The committee members *may* contact the faculty references. In addition, the Scholarship Committee may individually interview the top candidates. The student awarded the scholarship will be notified by mail and provided with more specific instructions by the Financial Aid Office.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Dr. Bethany Andreasen, Dr. Joseph Jastrzembski, Dr. Ernst Pijning, Dr. Dan Ringrose, and Dr. Mark Singer.