Skip to content
Graduate School

» Graduate Council Charter [pdf]
» Graduate Council Minutes

Graduate Council Meetings
2012-13 Meetings

  • TBA

Graduate Council

Mission Statement
The Graduate Council is the policy and governance body dealing with all graduate education issues according to the duties outlined in the Graduate Council Charter. As the representative governance unit of the Graduate faculty at Minot State University. The Graduate Council considers policy recommendations that govern graduate programs. It supports programs developed in accordance with the vision statement for Graduate Education.

Vision of Graduate Education at Minot State University
Minot State University is recognized as a regional leader for high quality graduate programs. MSU prepares graduates who have the knowledge and skills to make significant contributions in their chosen professions.

Composition of the Graduate Council
The Graduate Council consists of the Dean of the Graduate School, one elected graduate faculty member from each graduate program (not including separate track within programs), two graduate faculty members appointed by the Dean of the Graduate School, and three graduate students who are enrolled and in good standing. Faculty are elected by the graduate faculty from their own programs, and both they and faculty appointed by the Dean of the Graduate School serve for three year terms. Student members are elected from the Graduate Student Advisory Council and serve one-year terms. The Vice President for Academic Affairs is an ex-officio non-voting member.

2012-2013 Graduate Council Members
Communication Disorders Dr. Cheryl Gerard 2010-2013
Criminal Justice Dr. William Archambeault 2012-2015
Education Dr. Terry Eckmann 2010-2013
Information Systems Dr. Lori Willoughby 2010-2013
Management Dr. Gary Ross 2011-2014
Mathematics Dr. Narayan Thapa 2011-2014
Music Dr. Kenneth Bowles 2012-2015
School Psychology    
Science Dr. Robert Crackel 2010-2013
Special Education Dr. Johnna Westby 2010-2013
At-Large Position Dr. Harry Hoffman 2011-2014
At-Large Position    
Graduate Student Representative    
Graduate Student Representative    
Graduate Student Representative    
VP of Academic Affairs Dr. Lenore M. Koczon Ex-officio
Dean of the Graduate School   Chair